Thread: Tire PRESSURE!

Tire PRESSURE!

I visited my dealership and they expressed the concern of using correct tire pressure due to the extream sensitivity of the TOD system. I run mine at 29 psi and when I brought it in it was at 35... they gave me this big lecture. I've had to chang the transfer case, which luck for me was covered under warrenty... I keep reading people having higher pressure... is this ok, I keep mine at the 29...

if the circumference is the same on all 4 tires then what is the big deal? tire pressure can effect traction but still that should have no effect on the TOD other than when you loose traction.
    Anthony

what preesure did they tell u to keep the tires at?
    29?
    "Times fun when you're having flies."
    -Kermit the Frog

I'm not an automotive engineer ....... but I did stay at a Holiday Inn once .......
    the 29 psi rating will provide optimum comfort ........
    plus ..... the 29 psi is a *cold* measurement .... 29 psi cold may mean 32 psi when the tire is up to operating temp ....
    also, the 29 psi recommendation may actually lessen the chance of rollover ....... higher psi may actually lead to increased traction and therefore increase the chance of rollover in the event of a emergency manuever (think Ford Explorer - Ford recommended low psi to reduce the chance of rollover - but Firestone countered the low psi could contribute to tire failure ...)
    I can not remember the last time I kept tires as low as 29 psi - the tires wore unevenly (on the outsides) and the handling (cornering) sufferred. In addition, cupping on vehicles with 4wd was more likely to occur.