Thread: Do I need a new "air filter" hose?

Do I need a new "air filter" hose?

I'm not a mechanic so please be nice people. This hose (air filter) has come loose on filter box and cracked seal on engine end. Please confirm: this is a air filter hose? what is aftermarket part no.? Is this easy to replace myself (assuming i can buy one cheap online). Or is it just easier/cheaper going to local mechanic. Thanks guys!

The correct name for that is an "Air Intake Hose" I've gone through the manual, and in thousands of pages, they've allocated a whole two pages to this......and they don't give a part number.

Try this site?

https://www.acurapartssuperstore.com...ake-s/5786.htm

...forgot. Don't drive it like that. If you HAVE to, seal it with heat resistant silicon sealant until you can replace.

Running unfiltered air through the motor is not a good idea.

Quote Originally Posted by Sakkie View Post
    The correct name for that is an "Air Intake Hose" I've gone through the manual, and in thousands of pages, they've allocated a whole two pages to this......and they don't give a part number.

Try this site?

https://www.acurapartssuperstore.com...ake-s/5786.htm
    Why Acura parts? I've heard of some Honda parts being compatible but Acura? Also, there is a number of the hose #0714 ??

...because it also runs the 6VE1 motor, and the air intake system is identical.....the Honda's might be the same too, but I can't vouch for that.

Quote Originally Posted by Sakkie View Post
    ...because it also runs the 6VE1 motor, and the air intake system is identical.....the Honda's might be the same too, but I can't vouch for that.
    The reason i said Honda is because I bought a replacement radiator last year that was compatible with Honda Passport. Anyways back to the Acura parts... looking at my pics do I just need ITEM 4 - 1998 SLX PREMIUM AIR INLET? or do i need to order other parts as well? btw thanks for all your help thus far i know i'm super green to this stuff.