Thread: Tire Size Question: Gearing and fender cutting

Tire Size Question: Gearing and fender cutting

I just purchased my Fuel wheels (thank you for the idea VXorado)! 17x8.5 ($211 ea Amazon, no shipping no tax)! With 6mm offset, I'm trying to decide what size tires to get... My plan is Nitto Mud Grappler Extreme Terrain. I have a 3" lift. My minds-eye is for at least 33" but one size works out to be 33.8x12.5R17... Thats close to 34" and 12.5" wide! My questions are (from YOU experienced folks); Will this size tire (33.8x12.5) fit without a ton of fender cutting? And would it be better for me to go with a 33x11.5?? All the same size questions as it regards gearing or re-gearing? Is anyone running 33.8 tires with stock gears? Is it ok? I'm new to the VX world... BUT THIS FORUM has been a great resource for all my VX questions and modifications decisions! Thankyou for ALL the great info. I value and respect your detailed write ups!
    Bill
    1999 VX Grey
    Washington state
    3" lift
    Diff drop
    Ball flip

99 Matte Midnight Sand Met... oh nevermind. VX #0377...Project ZU
    Nice, I want to see the wheels installed!

33x11.5 will require less cutting for sure. The rubbing of wider tires happens when you turn, generally it's the wider the worse. I was running 32x11.5 before upgrading to 35x12.50. The 12.50 width required more cutting to make them fit. That being said, you mostly cut the inner back edge of wheel well and it's not very noticeable.

I would personally go for the 12.50 since you'll be cutting regardless.

...and post some pics.

Tire Size Question: Gearing and fender cutting