Thread: Installing Super flexy IFS kit

Installing Super flexy IFS kit

I got to play with my IFS kit for about 10 minutes while I was home for 12 hours. It comes in a box about the size of a 12 pack of coke. I was expecting bigger for some reason. He sent photos and instructions along with it. It is BEEFY. For all that are worried about the 1/2" pin breaking, they are rated to around 36Kpsi shear point. If it can tow a 12,000 lb trailer, it can handle the stress of our suspension when it is locked into a static position. The frame of the VX will fail long before that anyway...

In tandem with my install, I will be installing my diff drop brackets, cleaning the front axle/diff and painting with the POR15 I have been sitting on for a few months. I will then do it all up in red caliper paint. I will also build/install the modified front cross member. This is required when dropping the diff, otherwise the pumpkin will rub. No biggie.
    I will do some before flex and after flex shots, ease of install and whatnot.
    Hopefully I will start on all this weekend after next.

PS-I will be removing the garbage Mecatech boots at the same time. I talked to some others at the ZU meet, apparently this has been happening with those boots lately. A change in manufacturer or compund?

I predict future happiness for Americans if they can prevent the government from wasting the labors of the people under the pretense of taking care of them.
    Thomas Jefferson

I have never liked the mechatech boots. Even the ones I got several years ago from independent4x4 were way too thin for my liking. Have you tried contacting RCV about some. I though someone mentioned they had some awesome articulation friendly boots available. Can't wait to see pics of the install. Are you going to do a complete writeup/guide for it?
    The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable man persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on me.