Thread: Driving problem fixed/TOD problem realized

Driving problem fixed/TOD problem realized

I've had a major engine shake (surging, stumbling, knocking when accelerating) for over a year. It would only happen once I had been driving for about 20 min and the engine had warmed up and it would only happen when giving it gas. No shake when coasting. I changed the EGR valve, fuel pressure regulator, spark plugs, timing belt, and the intake manifold gasket. Nothing helped.

I also have my ABS light always on and my TOD has been acting up. I can hear the TOD "howling" while driving and the TOD lights flicker like a strobe light. I never thought that the engine shake had anything do do with the TOD because the TOD lights would flicker when the acceleration wasn't pulsing but, when I cut the light blue wire to disconnect the TOD, the howling and the surging stopped completely.

Two major questions:

1. What is the problem? the TOD clutch? sensors? transfer case? I'm no mechanic.

2. Has anyone had any long term problems with the 2WD mod on the VX? I know it's not really 2WD. I don't have locking hubs. What am i screwing up?

TOD is not related to engine stumbling, knocking surging. Since you say elimination of TOD eliminated drivability problems, you're probably right in your assumption of engine OK but TOD caput.

here's 2 cents:

1. Hard to tell what the problem is from here. Are you getting any TOD error codes? Let me rephrase. What TOD error codes are you getting? See http://vehicross.info/forums/showthr...&highlight=tod Look for Deermagnet post.

You might want to do a search on "mode switch" - that might explain the erratic TOD indicator lights and maybe more.