Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: VX Starts ok, but runs terrible...

VX Starts ok, but runs terrible...

Hmmm.. well, I'm new to the whole VX thing, and I've got to say that you all are the nicest group of people! Anyway, I bought a 99 VX last month and had to tow it home because it was running really bad.
    Here's what happens when I start it up:

Runs ok for first 15-20 seconds, then starts to idle rough. If I give it any gas it revs slowly then wants to idle very low. Almost no power at all when I put it in gear and try to drive it. It "pops and coughs" when the gas pedal is depressed.... Also, there is a strong hissing noise coming from the throttle body area, which leads me to believe that it might be the IAC motor... even though I did pull it out and looked to be funtional when turning the key in the on/off positions multiple times. Could it be the MAF? MAP? O2 sensors? Plugged CAT? Timing? I'd love to see if anyone else has had this problem. Thanks a ton in advace!

Sounds like it's starving for fuel and/or air. Don't know how many miles are on it, but maybe replace the fuel filter and the fuel pressure regulator to see if that helps. I know when I replaced my fuel filter at 60,000 +/- I could barely blow through it so it was pretty clogged.
    This might be way off, but have you taken a look at the air filter? Is it clogged and not allowing the VX to breathe?

Oh, almost forgot....welcome to the family.
    "The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong, it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair."
    -Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

Yes, welcome to the family ... and to the adiction.

I'll second what MS said. Start with the more simple solutions and work upward from there. Most of that should probably be done anyway.

Replace the fuel filter
    Replace the air filter
    Clean the MAF sensor
    Clean or replace the PCV