Thread: mode selector switch fix (shift indicator light)

mode selector switch fix (shift indicator light)

If you are experiencing issues with faulty shift indicator on your instrument cluster it is most likely your mode selector switch. This may be indicated by shifting to drive but displays neutral, reverse showing while in neutral, flickering or jumping, or no light at all. Because the transmission is electronically controlled this condition may also come with erratic and violent up and down shifting due to negative feedback through the TCU. This condition is often intermittent. A replacement part can go for upwards of $250 and many of you have indicated that the replacement part may not work either. Their is a simple fix. Took me 30 minutes and I'm no mechanic.

1.) Locate the mode selector switch on the driver side underneath the vehicle attached to the transmission. You should barely see the green serial number tag on the transmission body above it. You will also see a wire cluster connecting to the part from the rear of the vehicle to this part. This part is roughly the size of your palm.

2.) Once located pop off the dust cover with a screwdriver which is connected with spring steel in three points. Releasing the bottom and forward will allow removal without having to get to the difficult top point. Then remove the 14mm bolt attaching shift linkage to switch and pull away.

3.) The part is attached with two 10m bolts. One on forward and one on top slightly recessed from the body of the switch. You can get to this with a 2 inch extension and socket wrench, a little patience, and a flexible wrist.
    * Make sure the vehicle has cooled down as you will touch the exhaust pipe and transmission body.