PDA

View Full Version : Supercharger Questions

Catch77
08/04/2006, 07:23 PM
I usually scan the forums first before I do any mods or post any questions.

I've been toyin' the idea of install a Supercharger on the VX. There were a couple issues that were posted about problems with the install and problems with the supercharger itself. So here goes the questions....

How realiable are they and how much maintaining has been done to keep 'em going?

Does the price justify the power gained?

Does it make the VX sound better?

These are just a few but I'm curious for long-term use and I do tend to be on the road a lot (the I95 trek from PA to FL). So I'd hate to break down in the middle of nowhere.

Plus it'd be nice to pair it up with a sweet duel exhaust which I have yet to look into.

tbigity
08/05/2006, 01:57 PM
I will be the first to admit that I am a mechanical noob...it is an engineering marvel that I was able to lift my own silverado a few years back...but when it comes to under the hood, I really am lost. Point being, I have seen a couple of "electronic superchargers" advertised here and there (as opposed to gear-driven ones). ANy comments? They seem to be < $200 which is one huge plus, but are they all smoke and mirrors? ANy long term drawbacks to the engine itself? :confused:

Tone
08/05/2006, 02:26 PM
Dual exhaust is good with the SC but otherwise you will more than likely loose power. Put a better muffler on there is the most cost effective.

ALL issues have been resolved with the Alpine kits - FAQ here:
http://tonemonday.com/faqs.html
http://tonemonday.com/advantages.html

Ldub
08/06/2006, 04:41 AM
IMO, the price is justified IF...

If you don't care about mileage...not that you won't still be able to get 17-23 MPG on the highway, these numbers reflect my personal experience, yours may vary.
It's very hard to keep your newly enlarged foot out of it around town...it's just too much fun. ;)