PDA

View Full Version : Ashley wants to get high...

Bimati
07/17/2006, 02:46 PM
Stock 99, but my baby Ashley wants to be a big girl like Suzy (Ldub).

Have OME 912 springs and a set of 285/75/16.

Questions to get it done:

1. Is there a national chain store that would do tire mounting/balancing, alignment and lift (the whole shabangabang) for me?

2. What labor/costs should I expect if I drop her off with tires and springs and tell the place to "Git-er-done"?

Any info is appreciated as I have no experience modifying off-road vehicles, and could easily be bent over the barrel if I go into this blind. Thanks.

Bimati

Locomigo
07/17/2006, 04:42 PM
Get the tires mounted/balanced, load em up and come home.

Bust out the floor jack, jack stands and get ready for some fun.
Chock the front wheels front and back. lift up the truck fairly high and play the jack stands under the frame, towards the back (prior to the bend for the rear axle house to articulate).
This will allow you to articulate the axle to replace the springs.
One guy lifting up on one side, while the other presses down on the opposite side, the spring should come free.
Repeat and install the new spring.
You should be abe to articulate the axle enough by doing this, if not, remove the shocks first.
You're gonna need to replace them anway.
Once you have the springs replaced, install new longer shocks.
Cycle axle articulation and verify your soft lines (brakes) arent being pulled on with too much tension.
Install new rear tires.
Lower the rear and chock those wheels.
Lift up the front and crank on the tbars (probably need to hit the adjustment bolt, shock mounting hardware, etc with pb blaster a day or two prior.
Replace shocks with new longer ones.
Install new front tires and lower the front.
Cycle the steering and check for rubbing/close calls, etc with the fender liner/tires.
While cycling the steering, stop at the closest point and cycle the suspension and determine impact(s).