PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Offroader

Ruflyf
06/12/2006, 08:55 PM
I have officially realized I am a newbie offroader. This afternoon I was out looking at houses with the wife and I passed a trail along the side of a river I use to play at as a kid. Well of course I HAD to check it out.

To the objection of the wife off down the trail I went, not that she doesnt enjoy it, its moreless she thinks we might get stuck or break something. Not having any rain in, I cant remember how long, water would not be an issue. Anyway I was having fun going through the rutted out trails and came to a fairly sandy area where I decided to put it in 4wd low rather than just 4wd auto. Hmmm, couldnt make it up this lil bump, back kept spinning, so I pout it back in 4wd auto, same thing. Being that my 4wd apparently working correctly I headed back out before I got somewhere I couldnt get out of. About ten miles down the road almost to the house it hits me, my hubs were unlocked!!! I forgot I had been running with them unlocked for several gas fills to see the difference.

tomdietrying
06/12/2006, 09:11 PM
About ten miles down the road almost to the house it hits me, my hubs were unlocked!!!

I don't get it? We don't have manual locking hubs. :confused: Please fill me in.
Peace.
Tom

Triathlete
06/12/2006, 10:27 PM
Some people have installed the Asin manual hubs.

Ldub
06/13/2006, 05:42 AM
You can go offroad a thousand ways
When you ask yourself, and say
It all comes down to that single rock
CAN I MAKE IT UP THIS HILL UNLOCKED?

Trans Mississiberian Offroad Orchestra

I know...I don't rhyme very well...all I wanted to say is:
When you stop doing "dumb stuff", you probably aren't doing anything.

:p :p :p

kpaske
06/13/2006, 09:09 AM
Is there some advantage to having manual locking hubs? Does it save wear and tear on the front diff if you run with them unlocked or something?

Ruflyf
06/13/2006, 09:40 AM
Tom dietrying, yes have aftermarket aisin hubs