PDA

View Full Version : Simple question....can't find answer

nfpgasmask
05/07/2006, 08:45 PM
I am a noob at only 2 days of ownership. I just bought a wicked EB 2001 VX and I am stoked. I want to pull the stock tape/deck radio and put in my head unit. Can someone point me in the direction of a step by step for getting into the dash to pull the radio out?

Thanks!!

Bart

etlsport
05/07/2006, 08:52 PM
go to www.tonemonday.com and on the VX parts page at the bottom you can download the VX shop manual (i think its for a 2000.. but the differences are very very minor if there are any at all) it gives you step by steps for pretty much anything youd ever want to do in your vx

VehiX
05/08/2006, 06:21 AM
It's really pretty simple. Just undo all the screws around the guage console and down along the trim of the center dash. The only problem I had taking mine out was getting the guage console out. The steering wheel tends to get in the way so take it easy and with careful manipulation this piece will come out. Just be careful and take your time. Don't force anything that doesn't feel like it wants to move. Try different departure angles as you try to remove the trim. Once the trim is out of the way, I believe the radio just has a few screws on the front of each side, once undone the radio will just slide out.

Good luck :)

nfpgasmask
05/08/2006, 12:04 PM
Thanks guys, one more question you probably know. Once I pull the stock radio, I plan to put in my JVC head unit. I will also be pulling the CD changer and putting in a pocket. Regarding my JVC unit, is there a special wiring harness I need to purchase? I had it connected in my 2000 Nissan Xterra before, so I am not sure if I will need any extra stuff. I also need to find out if I need a DIN kit for it, I assume I will need something to make it all flush.

Thanks again, Bart

SkidPlate
05/09/2006, 06:05 PM
You should pick up a wiring harness that connects to the factory plug, then you won't have to cut anything.