PDA

View Full Version : Urgent help from Lawyers on the board !!

james1_10018
02/16/2006, 04:23 AM
I have to appear in court for alleged passing a school bus.
This was fabricated by a woman who decided to take it out on me.
anyone knows of any standard defenses against this ? Any help would be appreciated

James

VX crazy
02/16/2006, 05:21 AM
I am no lawyer, but one of the worst things is passing a school bus when the lights and flag is out. Need more details....if the flag on the drivers side was not out, I would have passes as well, although slowly.

transio
02/16/2006, 05:49 AM
I'm not a lawyer, but I've been in your shoes.

The person accusing you of passing the bus must give a signed affidavit and testify in court. If she does so and lies, it is perjury, which is a felony, and she can go to prison for that. In court, you should point this out to her during her testimony. "You know that lying in court is a crime and you can go to prison for this, right?" Also, make sure to point it out to the judge: "She's lying, your honor. This is a retaliation for [xyz]."

If there were other witnesses (e.g. bus driver, kids), they should have been questioned / referenced.

If so, get their testimony in court

If not, ask the cop in court why he didn't get the accounts of other pertinent witnesses. The bus driver is very important. Also, use this as conjecture to draw the conclusion that the woman is lying (i.e. why didn't she get the license plate of the bus and give that to the cop?)

Adamantly deny everything and be angry. If you are passive, people will assume you're lying. I believe passing a school bus is a criminal trial in most states (lawyers correct me if wrong here). That works to your advantage, because it means they have to prove BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT that you did it.