PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible? Just a thought on losing oil

Mikeys00vx
10/05/2005, 07:45 PM
Hi Guys/Gals,

First, let me say that I am not a qualified mechanic, so this theory may be ignorant at best. But here goes.

Before purchasing my VX, I owned a 1998 Isuzu Amigo, V6, 4WD. I too noticed that it burned about a quart of oil between changes. Every Isuzu owner that I talked too agreed that it was normal for that particular engine.

One day while at the local Quick Lube, I asked the tech what the benefits of switching to synthetics would be, as i'd considered it many times before, but never followed through with it. He wholeheartedly shot that idea down...saying that he'd seen numerous vehicles start to burn oil after the switch. I don't think he was knocking the whole synthetic idea in general, but he didn't agree with making a switch, especially at the 90k mark on the Amigo. He went on to say that he'd seen vehicles that didn't burn oil normally start to burn oil almost immediately because something about the rings and seals just couldnt handle the change.

Now, with that being said, is it possible that switching to synthetic motor oil could be the culprit in the VX oil burning problem? Just a thought.

Mikey

PS...I have ran regular motor oil since I purchased at 24k and it hasn't lost a drop of oil since I bought it....so naturally I have to wonder if this theory is right?!

Joe_Black
10/05/2005, 09:42 PM