PDA

View Full Version : Hot weather problems; dies when started,and,or,revs to 3000 rpm's + air blows hot!

LITTLELAURIE
08/30/2005, 02:34 PM
:( I need some advice since the dealership can't find the problem! My VX ,(with only 10,000mi), doesn't like warm weather! It dies when started and it rev's up to 3000 rpm's and takes off by it's self, up hills, going 15 + mph, I don't even have my foot on the gas! Also, when shifting from park to either drive, or, reverse, it is hard to shift and makes a loud, "thump" sound!!! What is going on?! Last summer it didn't do this at all!!! I took it to the dealership and expained what was going on, they said that they couldn't find anything wrong! Could someone help me? Thank you VX addicts!!
Laurie

maxw
08/31/2005, 09:17 AM
Same thing happened to me last year. The mechanic identified the problem and had it fixed in a few minutes. Apparently it was one of the valves governing input of fuel to the engine ( sorry, I'm no mechanic, so not much more detail than that) which stuck intermittently due to accumulation of muck over time ;) .Therefore, sometimes it would not start while other times, it revved up a storm.
The valve was replaced and no more trouble since. If your mechanic cannot idetify it, maybe it's time to check with someone more competent?
Good luck.
max.

LITTLELAURIE
08/31/2005, 11:49 AM
Did your VX have this problem all the time, or, when it was hot out? Did your air conditioning blow hot when it was acting up? That's what mine does. Also, it over heats when the air is on too! Thank you so much for your advice and reply! I really appreciate it!!
Laurie

Narsus
08/31/2005, 12:22 PM