PDA

View Full Version : Off-Road Upgrade Questions

TEN36VX
07/16/2005, 07:22 PM
I would like the advice of some of you off roaders regarding the way I should go with my upgrades.

1. Wheels. What size and off-set is needed for the 33x12.5? Any recommendations?

2. Skiders. Should I custom build skid plates or go with the Isuzu-made bolt-ons? Cost versus quality and ease of fitment/construction... Your thought?

3. Sliders. I have heard that weld on sliders can 'oil can' the frame, and the company making mine recommends reinforcing... How do I do that?

I appreaciate the insight of the experienced, being a rookie myself. Thanks all.

Triathlete
07/17/2005, 05:31 PM
1. For 33's you need more than just wheels and tires. Even with a lift you will need to take a BFH to the inner metal of the wheel wells and do some pretty serious trimming of the cladding. There are several posts on the board that refer to this.

2. The factory Rodeo skids do an all right job. But if you have the means to do a custom plate I'd go that route since you will get more complete protection. Same as above search the posts its been covered.

3. The key I think to preventing the coke canning of the frame is to have a minimum of 3 contacts. The one I saw coke can only had 2 points. To add additional support have the person welding them up and on weld a U box about 3-4 inches long to the frame then connect the sliders at those points. That is the plan I'm going to use when I ever get around to getting some made up.

Good luck and keep us informed of your progress. Will we see you in Moab next May?

Todd Adams
07/18/2005, 02:11 PM
If you really want to wheel, buy a Jeep and spend another 30K on it. I know I did :eek: