PDA

View Full Version : My Site Is Up... Finally!

Joe_Black
11/08/2004, 10:44 PM
It looks like crap, so if any of y'all can explain to me in prain engrish how to make my frames work I'd just be all kinds of giddy. I'm a total web newb, use FP2K and ain't gonna switch due to comfort level. ;pp; In any case, take a look and let me know what you think: Joe Black's VehiCROSS Site (http://www.antiquecaterpillar.org/VX/)

johnnyapollo
11/09/2004, 03:29 AM
Hey Joe,

Do yourself a favor and abandon frames. It's easier to load your menus from an include file. Does your host support ASP?

-- John

dkmiller68
11/09/2004, 04:14 AM
Great photos on tranny fluid change. Thanks for taking the time to put a website together.

Joe_Black
11/09/2004, 05:40 AM
Originally posted by johnnyapollo
Do yourself a favor and abandon frames. It's easier to load your menus from an include file. Does your host support ASP?

-- John Use the same host you do, thanks to your suggestion. ;pg; Ya lost me on the "include file", told ya I'm a noobian. I'll give ya a ring and maybe get me an edumacation.

Thanks DK, hope to have more soon and to keep adding useful info.

VehiCrazy
11/09/2004, 06:11 AM
Looks good. I realize its a Vcross site, but could ya maybe squeeze in a pic or two of some old CATs??;Db;

transio
11/09/2004, 07:47 AM
ASP / SHTML Include:

<!--#Include File="menu.asp"-->

PHP Include:

<?php include('menu.php'); ?>

transio
11/09/2004, 07:48 AM
PS - if you're interested in ease of maintenance, why don't you look into a CMS like Wiki or PHPNuke? They really make updating content in your site a lot easier, and you don't need to know the technical stuff.

kpaske
11/09/2004, 07:59 AM