PDA

View Full Version : Somebody tell me what to do!

Lease-V-cross
05/18/2004, 07:56 PM
Yes, it's me again...and I am a bit confused.
Let me explain.
I've crunched some numbers and something still does NOT make sense to me.
I have been leasing (yes, leasing) a 2000 Maroon VX since the summer of 2001.
My payments are $329 a month thru PNC bank.
I filed for bankruptcy but I kept paying the car payment because I did not wish to include the VX in my bankruptcy, (Now that's dedication)
I owe about $7896 til my lease runs out in July '06.
Then PNC tells me if I wish to purchase the VX I owe an additional $7,000 something.
I checked the Blue book value of my VX and it's about $9105 @ roughly 47,000 miles in Fair condition. Is that what the residual value of the car is? I checked my lease agreement and the residual is listed at $9287.
My question is this...how can I owe an additional $7000 if the VX is only worth about $9000 as a potential trade-in? Maybe PNC gave me a wrong estimate.

So far I paid about $11,800 since I drove it off the lot at 20,000 miles.
I hope I was clear explaining this.
What do ya think VXers, am I better off doing a lease-transfer and saying goodbye or should I suck it up til the end of my lease and then walk away?
One last question: If I go to a dealership to buy a new or used car, can the dealer get me out of the lease? Do I pay penalty fees or does the dealer absorb these costs? I heard that they will add whatever I owe on the car to the new car, thus increasing my monthly car payment anyway.

(THUNK!)
Head hitting desk.

Can you tell I've never leased before?

Kahuna
05/18/2004, 08:57 PM