PDA

View Full Version : Timing Belt

weasel
02/15/2004, 06:29 PM
Hello Everyone!

This seems to be a great page and it is already on my fav list.

When is a good time to replace the timing belt? I have 80000 on mine and I was thinking about it the other day.

If the timing belt brakes does the valves bang up the pistons or the other way around?

In my kia the belt broke but it did not damage the engine because the valve travel is recessed into the top.

Any other things that should be considered soon?

Let me know what you think.

Thanks!

-Fred

Heraclid
02/15/2004, 06:57 PM
Welcome! Use this site's search feature for more on the belt - I think it's well overdue for you (replace at about 50-60K) but that's just a hunch. It's something I need to be looking into as well...

Saw you list yourself as a pilot in your profile - what do you fly? I'm a wannabe fling-wing pilot myself. :-)

Hey, I have an idea for a site T-shirt we could get made. I saw this done on some Ford shirt of something... we could have some printed up that read as follows:

"I don't drive too fast, I just fly real low... VehiCross"

geshaw30
02/15/2004, 07:24 PM
Greetings....Looking forward to meeting up with you the next time we have the gang in for another Houston meet. It's overdue. By the way, if you're looking for a quality Isuzu dealership try McKinzey Bond on the Katy Freeway just east of Katy. Do great work and have always treated us VX'ers well.
________
Fuc Tube (http://www.****tube.com/)

weasel
02/15/2004, 11:51 PM
Hey!

That is a good one. We should have a t-shirt contest with the best logo or phrase; like two winners.

Your's is good, I like it.

I fly a variety of aircraft both in work and for fun. The coolest one I think is the L39.

It is almost as fun as driving a vehicross.

I will be ordering a T-belt.

-Fred

Houston Meet? When and Where? How about one down to the beach when it warms up?

Tone
02/16/2004, 06:29 AM