PDA

View Full Version : 1st gear slipping

Pete
12/02/2003, 02:06 PM
Just picked up a 99 Vehicross with tranny probs.106,000 mi. It is slipping so badly in 1st that it barely moves at all but if you can get it rolling fast enough to shift to 2nd it runs great, reverse is fine also. I am wondering if I need to rebuild/replace with used or can this be fixed? One shop said it could be a solinoid??(sp.?) Has anyone had similar experience??? Love to hear about it.

Thanks, Pete

Apostle
12/02/2003, 03:20 PM
im not a mechanic, but i have never heard of a solonoid on the transmission, but then again it is the VX

is it slipping out of gear and then popping back in to place with a crunching sound, or is it just reving when you push on the gas and nothing is happening?

both have happened to me before in a t-bird. first was the 1st gear sprocket, was missing some teeth, the second was a problem with one of the computer chips.

hope that helps

(only solonoid i know of has to do with the battery and starter)

Tone
12/02/2003, 03:41 PM
There are several solenoids on autotrannies but it sounds as if this is the first gear band that is failing. You'll need to get that fixes as soon as possible though. Make sure you have enough fluid in the tranny by removing the upper plug on the pan and fluid should dribble out.

Pete
12/02/2003, 04:14 PM
Thanks for the replies!

When I put it into drive it just revs up as if in neutral but it will move forward ever so slightly on level surface. It seems to move or grab a little more when in low lock.

I have found several used transmissions online ranging from $700 to $1350 plus $125 to $150 shipping, miles ranging from 55,000 to 6,000 and price to rebuild whole thing locally is around $1,600.

Pete

Apostle
12/02/2003, 06:49 PM
told ya i wasnt a mechanic. never knew about the solonoids. learn sumtin new daily

hchen
12/03/2003, 12:30 AM