PDA

View Full Version : End of Year Review

sindarin
12/07/2014, 05:17 AM
I bought my VehiCROSS for about $7k a few years back. I got to drive it a whopping 75 days before the wiring harness (which was conveniently draped over the exhaust on the psgr side AND wrapped around the drive shaft by the seller and their *ahem!* 'modifications') burned through. 1st sign was a TOD **CHECK!!** led by a non stop check engine until it burned through the crankshaft positioning sensor wire and threw a #1Piston through the psgr lateral side of the block itself...

It looked like Godzilla tried to punch his way OUT of my motor.. the car dies in Lawrence, KS and I had to rent a Penske and car carrier to get it home (this was the most economical way to tow it the last 500+ miles)...

It sat in a buddy's drive for a few years. Hell, I'm a medical professional and I didn't have the dough for a Jerry engine (Didn't even KNOW Jerry Lemond existed, yet) I wasn't bugging any Tom Brennan's yet for trailer hitches or other insightful (and always dead-on-balls accurate) spec and mod info, and at 40+ it had been at least 25 years since I SERIOUSLY turned wrenches on major projects (engine swaps, lifts, tranny swap with conversion from auto to manual, etc).

I started this past year on hiatus from work... Too much emotional weight to work through in order to gain my center again. My partner cut me a loan for a Jerry engine (Pd in full) and when I strong arm and cheater pipe'd the old seized 6VE1 out of it I had a lot of smaller decisions to make because as we all can agree, "just swapping an engine" usually leans towards "total 'other systems' failures" as the car reacclimates itself to a new drivetrain/engine...