PDA

View Full Version : VX Towing

Vinnybin
02/21/2014, 03:50 PM
I have a scenario for the guys that take their rigs out to wherever to off road them as they are probably the ones who know how best to secure VX to a trailer. Recently retiring from the military and have a long horrible drive to florida from Hell Paso. Its about 20 hours or slower.

The vehicles that are going. 38FT Diesel pusher RV 300 HP i think it tows allot but ill have to check it. Hyundai Sonata FWD. The VX( Which is lifted on 33's) and the covered car trailer(20ft duel axle 3500 a piece). A load of house hold crap(probably about 5 thousand pounds. It currently fills the entire covered trailer).

I think the VX may have some height clearance problems with the trailer. Possible solutions: Pull off the roof rack. Deflate tires.

The sonata fits perfectly in the covered trailer.

I didn't see any big D rings to tie down the vehicle to in the trailer.

I am a Black Hawk pilot by trade. I know the how to haul stuff in the air a hell of allot better than on the road. All input will be appreciated.

Vinnybin
02/21/2014, 03:51 PM
And also am limited with two drivers.

Marlin
02/21/2014, 04:00 PM
I did my military move,3 vehicles, one trailer, two drivers. We opted to door to door ship the VX and my wife's trooper RS. Door to door shipping for a vehicle should be around 1000 bucks. I would say, ship the VX, keep the miles off of her, especially since they are terrible at long freeway speeds as far as burning oil. Throw the hyundai in the trailer, tow it behind the RV. Then you only really need one driver.

JoFotoz
02/21/2014, 04:14 PM
AFAIK....

I have a scenario for the guys that take their rigs out to wherever to off road them as they are probably the ones who know how best to secure VX to a trailer.

....all VX's drive to Moab and other off roading on their own 4 wheels!

And hopefully...drive home too..
...though a couple have been hauled away from the stoop on trailers!! :(

:_steering

Jo

Marlin