PDA

View Full Version : ot RCA wires

zadam123
11/15/2003, 12:21 PM
Due to my recient vandelism i hooked up survalence cameras outside my window but need to run the wires about 150 feet to my vcr.

does anyone know if this is possible, I cant find a place that has that much feet in an RCA set up, I was told i can buy wire and the RCA connectors and do it myself but it probably wont work cause the signal wont go that far.

any ideas?

adam

Apostle
11/15/2003, 02:09 PM
hey, i do sec cams for a living.

your cam has rca plugs on the back? or is it a hand held video cam?

most cctv will use either a coax or rj-11 (telephone) jack. which are easily fabricated. as far as rca goes, its the same concept as coax, just a dif connector. in other words, wire is wire.

as far as making the signal go farther, here what you do: go rca to coax pigtail. then bring the coax into a signal amplifier, you can get this at best buy in the satelite section (dish). from there run your coax to the vcr and then use another pigtail to split it back into rca. whatever comes out has to go in. motto that helps with vcrs and cams.

if you need some more info let me know

Hotsauce
11/15/2003, 03:49 PM
Mount the cam on your rifle. get remote pan/swivel base, and you can pick them off from the comfort of your chair.

John C.

"Hold up a pack of cigaretts"

WyrreJ
11/15/2003, 04:33 PM
www.partsexpress.com is a good place to find various components.

zadam123
11/15/2003, 06:03 PM
Originally posted by Apostle
hey, i do sec cams for a living.

your cam has rca plugs on the back? or is it a hand held video cam?

most cctv will use either a coax or rj-11 (telephone) jack. which are easily fabricated. as far as rca goes, its the same concept as coax, just a dif connector. in other words, wire is wire.