PDA

View Full Version : new engine start up?

vxfocus
06/25/2013, 07:38 PM
anyone know how to prime the oil pump?
the sheet i got with the engine says to prime the oil pump before first start up to prevent bearing damage...
but they dont say how to do it

SilverBullet75
06/25/2013, 07:49 PM
Normally that's done with the pump outside the engine. You inject oil into the pump with a squeeze pump. With it installed...?
Doesn't make sense.
Did the builder do it during assembly?

hughesdt
06/26/2013, 09:05 AM
The one that I borrowed looked like a metal oil can. Filled it with oil screwed a hose into the pressure sender and used compressed air to force the oil into the engine. I too was told, from a reputable mechanic, to do this before starting the motor. I have never done this before with chevy engines I have rebuilt, but I did fill their oil pumps with grease so that they where not dry on start up and be able to pull oil up to the pump. Since I couldn't really get to the inside of the oil pump on the Vehicross I figured I'd take the advice.

89Vette
06/27/2013, 09:50 PM
Yes, pack the oil pump with grease during assembly...

For my SBC 383, I used the poor man's method. I pulled the plugs and cranked the motor. It spins very quickly w/o compression and the starter does a decent job of showing you if oil pressure builds as expected. I can't remember that the VX has a gauge to confirm when the oil is "loaded". My vette has a digital gauge. It took about 20 seconds to fully prime.

I'm on it's 3rd year and going strong...so it worked fine.

hughesdt
06/28/2013, 09:45 AM
No gauge for oil pressure unless it was added after-market. And I don't believe that the starter, even with out the plugs, will spin fast enough to build up enough pressure to turn off the oil pressure light.

vxfocus
06/28/2013, 02:44 PM