PDA

View Full Version : Front differential Issues?

eblank
03/17/2013, 04:50 PM
So here's my story:
I put the truck in 4 lo just for fun to drive over a coupe railroad ties. I put it back in 4 hi. and start to drive away. Then it starts making an awful binging kindof surging noise and feel. It kindof comes and goes but is always there when I turn and sometimes when going straight. Turns out that the bolts on the front end of the front prop shaft are digging into the exhaust pipe (not just the heat shield). So i prop up the front end and the wheels turn in opposite directions like they were under tension. and when i turn one (while in park) the other turns the opposite direction. after I let it down the prop shaft is no longer digging into the exhaust. So I drive it again in hi gear and it immediately starts to bind again...

So does anyone have any suggestions, ideas, or troubleshooting ideas? I'm all ears. I'm by no means an expert on the 4wd system so I'm wondering how the front wheels should act in park, hi, and lo gear when off the ground.

this is pretty major binding so I'm not leaving my driveway unless I take out the prop shaft, so need to get this figured out asap...

Ldub
03/17/2013, 05:21 PM
Could be that the front axle brackets are loose on the axle or frame...:_confused

Put the front end up on jackstands under the frame, chock the rear wheels 1st, then see if there is any slop F-R in the frt axle assembly.

Marlin
03/17/2013, 06:35 PM
I would agree with DUB, is the prop shaft tight? If that CV goes, that could be an issue as well. If it is rubbing the exhaust, are your exhaust hangars good? Perhaps the exhaust moved, not the driveline?

eblank
03/17/2013, 08:36 PM
well I checked the axle brackets and everything appears to be pretty solid down there. The exhaust is only a few inches from the header so there's no play there at all. and the prop shaft bolts are tight too.