PDA

View Full Version : Tune up

karrijp
09/14/2012, 08:36 AM
I don't think my VX has had a tune up in a while. What would you guys recommend for plugs, wires, etc. Do you recommend new coil packs as well? It seems a little sluggish. I thought it would have more take off power than what it does. I understand they are low geared, it just seems to really lug down when you are trying to acclerate.

tom4bren
09/14/2012, 10:50 AM
We don't have plug wires (coil packs mounted directly to plugs).

No need to replace coil packs unless you are getting a misfire CEL code.

Plugs & fuel filter are your best tune up bet for increased throttle response.

karrijp
09/14/2012, 12:37 PM
Thanks! I'm not a mechanic as you can tell. Just want it to be right:p This is the first vehicle I have EVER gotten excited about owning. I have big dreams for my fishing trips now!

VxSport
09/14/2012, 12:58 PM
Inspect the air filter too.. invest in a k&n filter for better perforance.

blacksambo
09/14/2012, 08:59 PM
I don't know about replacing plugs, mine has 158K on the original plugs, and no misfiring yet?? ( I know this sounds spooky, but as far as I know it's true.) My NAPA guy told me to forget plugs, he used work at a BMW dealer and the cars came in there with 130k plus all the time with the original plugs and no misfires. Take it from there.

VxSport
09/15/2012, 05:31 PM
This is just my thoughts.... To not replace spark plugs until the code goes off, it seems like waiting for problems to arise. A few months ago I replaced the factory plugs in our Avalanche (140K), I should have done it at 100K. Now the truck was driving a little slow (but not bad), no codes were going off. 2 of the plugs were fouled (one really bad). After changing the plugs, fuel economy went up by 3.2 Mpg.

Just my opions out loud.

ZeroSix
09/16/2012, 01:54 PM
just as a new VX owner: watch your oil levels; sluggishness and bad milage comes from low oil too.