PDA

View Full Version : Fuel question (enlighten me)

bssage
08/22/2012, 12:44 AM
The owners manual is pretty clear, No ethanol. I am curious why. I have some general knowledge about gasoline, octane ect... But in my neck of the woods I can buy 89 octane ethanol for the same price as the 87 unleaded. If my understanding of octane is correct. It refers to the point of combustion. And that higher octane not only burns hotter but more complete. And more complete = less residual gunk. I really am ignorant about the ethanol blends and how they effect the burn or combustion.

I dont have the book in front of me now. But I believe it also states that you can use between 87 and 91 octane. In this specific motor is there a benefit to using the higher octane ?

I am also wondering if there is a difference between the ethanol produced at the time of manufacturing and now. I know there have been changes and refinements in the last 12 years.

tom4bren
08/22/2012, 05:46 AM
I can't enlighten you to the theoretical issues of ethanol but I can tell you that I've been running it in mine with no problems. I'm not even sure I can get ethanol free fuel in my area. I know that on my recent trip to TN, gas stations who sold ethanol free fuel made a point of advertising it & that doesn't seem to be the case here in VA.

VX MileHigh
08/22/2012, 06:28 AM
From what I understand, the concern about using ethanol in any vehicle is that the ethanol can react with some of the gaskets and fuel lines in older vehicles. That said every time I am in Iowa I fill up a time or two with the 89 octane and don't have any problems.

bssage
08/22/2012, 09:56 AM
After a little research I come away with a couple of things.

1. A lot of misinformation about fuel is out there.