PDA

View Full Version : Transmission shop: a hat tip

twalker920
03/29/2012, 05:41 PM
I needed to check and probably change my tranny fluid since I didn't know its condition and the shifts were just slightly rougher than when I got the VX last summer. At first I read through all the great how-tos on here (with the usual clear photos) and was ready to tackle it. But then I thought if I can find somewhere I like to do this it will save me a probable huge mess and I can get the rest of the underside fluids, parts, and suspension checked out at the same time by a pro. I have some wrenching experience, but claim no expertise, and I haven't had a shop look at my VX since I bought it. And it has 142,000 miles on it...about 4500 since I bought it.

So long story short, I want to thank Walker Transmission (http://www.walkertrans.com/) in Arvada, Colorado (NW Denver) for being totally friendly, totally honest, totally reasonable, and totally accessible (I made the appointment yesterday and had it done this morning).

For $250 (which is about what I expected) they changed the fluid, inspected the tranny (dropped the crossmember and pan - all looks fantastic and the old fluid was used but not burnt). They checked all the other underside fluids and said they looked good. And they checked the suspension out and said everything looked fine. They lubed a few parts and checked out the drive train, shafts, seal, boots, and gave them all a clean bill of health.

Oh and they have worked on Vehicrosses before...I don't know if anyone here has used them but they knew when I called that there was no dipstick or fill spout for the tranny. They are also familiar with the TOD system.