PDA

View Full Version : 15k service necessary?

bgerdsen
08/26/2003, 12:06 AM
Hi guys-- newbie here. I was just wondering how important you guys think the 15k servicing is on a scale of 1-10. Can I simply get away with doing it at 30k instead? I have some friends (non VXers) that believe that doing the 15k is a waste of money.

I'd love to hear everyone's opinion...

johnnyapollo
08/26/2003, 03:40 AM
My opinion is that you should do all Service Intevals whether they are necessary or not. They do two things for you... First is they provide proof that you have maintained the vehicle in case there is a service issue and you need to excercise the warranty.

Secondly, provided you use your Isuzu dealer for the service, they help you to build a relationship with the dealership's service department if there is a warranty issue that is marginally covered. The dealer that did all my service maintenance was always quick to do whatever I needed done, and covered all repairs under warranty without a question. I've heard this same opinion from others. It's up to you, but the amount you overpay for service could make a big difference down the road. Food for thought.

Of course if we were all driving Fords or Chevys my opinion would be different. Also, once the warranty is expired the question may become moot.

-- John

Joe_Black
08/26/2003, 04:44 AM
What John said! And use 100% Mobil-1 everywhere! ;)

Raque Thomas
08/26/2003, 05:58 AM
I echo what John said as well - HOWEVER, make sure your dealer goes by the VX manual's requirement for a 15K service - not his usual BS service. You'll probably find if you look at the dealer's normal 15K service that they do not include the front & rear differential fluid change or the lubrication of the rear drive shaft. My dealer agreed to do it at the same price since that was required for the VX 15K service. FYI

Navigator
08/26/2003, 07:37 AM