PDA

View Full Version : SIRIUS FOR LIFE!

Joe_Black
08/20/2003, 08:44 PM
Check this out: Lifetime SIRIUS for $399. (http://www.sirius.com/servlet/ContentServer?pagename=Sirius/CachedPage&c=Page&cid=1019257316818)

Pens
08/20/2003, 09:59 PM
I would be careful since some business gurus believe that Sirius could be absorbed by XM since due to financial difficulties. If that happens XM would not be obligated to pick up their contracts, they most likely would but you never know.

That was a major factor in my selecting of XM.

Joe_Black
08/21/2003, 05:45 AM
Thanks for the info, but the financials were an additional reason I went with SIRIUS. I work in the financial industry (IT dept.) and get to pick the brains of our investments group. XM has some good spin-doctors, but SIRIUS has stronger green and is poised to keep running when XM runs out of dough. It's still very close in what is a very new market and technology. XM's failure to obtain insurance relief on their most recently failed satellite is a major blow to them fiscally and is also forcing them to roll the dice on launching their spare bird far earlier than anticipated. SIRIUS has had their birds up longer (they were first to orbit) with fewer problems.

Believe me, I don't want either to fail for as long as there are at least two providers they'll be competitive on pricing and offer great deals like the one that started this thread. For $399 for life it's $11 a month just at three years. Anything beyond that is just cake!

IsuZOOM
08/21/2003, 06:07 AM
Assuming the service follows the unit and the new buyer should you sell down the road, it's a good deal, just like lifetime service on a ReplayTV or TiVo. Why throw out $11+ a month?

AnalogVX
08/21/2003, 06:13 AM