PDA

View Full Version : Another Sport Utility Vehicle

LiquidVX
03/15/2010, 03:25 PM
I really miss my VX. It was too expensive to ship to Europe so I sold her. Now I am moving back and looking for another. Nothing has fit me like a Vehicross. No other vehicle has made me feel like the VX did. In my search for another it occured to me... No company has made anything similar???

You see a lot of contenders: The Toyota RSC, Audi's Steppenwolf, and VW's nameless prototypes from the Detroit auto show. But none of these have made it to production not even in limited numbers.

Did Isuzu lose so much money on the Vehicross they vowed never to try something like it again? It was easily their most popular vehicle.

Are other manufacturers so scared to try something new? Must we choose new versions of the same tired old vehicles year after year? And when a new vehicle comes out, by the time it goes into production the design is so watered down its boring.

I am a designer by trade and I imagine the automotive industry works like my industry. It goes like this:

Company needs new design.
They hire designer because thats the thing to do.
Designer submits design to the committee. Its the equivalent of a Vehicross.
The committee thinks they know better and suggests a bunch of changes.
Designer submits revisions.

Steps 4 and 5 are repeated at several times.

Committee approves design... Its the equivalent to Toyota Camry.

I realize there are production costs and such to consider but was the VX so costly all car manufacturers said "Woah, lets not do that ok guys?"

Triathlete
03/15/2010, 04:05 PM
Or maybe one of THESE (http://www.carbodydesign.com/archive/2009/07/09-fornasari-racing-buggy/)! Probably the closest NEW vehicle to the VX in my opinion.:bwgy:

LiquidVX
03/15/2010, 04:56 PM
Yeah but again, doesn't exist. Also I am not digging the CG renders.

jdm monkey
03/15/2010, 05:42 PM
I think BMW X6 comes pretty close to VX philosophy.

LiquidVX
03/15/2010, 06:18 PM