PDA

View Full Version : Take me to school on snow chains

vt_maverick
11/30/2009, 06:38 PM
So I'm driving the wife and baby up to Wisconsin for Christmas this year, and since there's a good chance we'll be driving through heavy snow sometime during the week, I figure getting snow chains is a good idea. Problem is I grew up in North Carolina, where we cancel school for a week for the mere forecast of flurries, so I have no experience with what to look for, what to spend, heck, even how to install them. Anybody got suggestions, recommendations, horror stories, etc. to help me out?

Thanks in advance! :D

orion
11/30/2009, 07:18 PM
unless your going off roading in a blizzard, there is no reason you would need chains. and i don't think Wisconsin allows chains on their paved roads.

Ldub
12/01/2009, 03:03 AM
unless your going off roading in a blizzard, there is no reason you would need chains. and i don't think Wisconsin allows chains on their paved roads.

X II...

Any roads you travel will more likely than not be plowed well enough for a VX with even marginal snow tires to get through.

Spend the chain money on a AAA membership...:_snowplow

JAMAS
12/01/2009, 06:19 AM
What is your tire situation?

Racing slicks or All-terrains?

vt_maverick
12/01/2009, 06:49 AM