PDA

View Full Version : Nature attacked my VX

DK
10/22/2009, 10:38 AM
So my wife was going about 35 through Malibu Canyon in the dark the other night when a large buck deer jumped in front of the VX. She swerved and avoided an head-on but made contact on the passenger side of the car.

The animal's antlers smacked down on top of the hood leaving a large dent as if someone had whacked it with a hammer. And now I notice that the hood has shifted about a quarter inch to the driver's side -- the headlight has been pushed back about a quarter inch --the fender has moved so that there is a larger gap between it and the cladding -- and the gap between the fender and the part around the door is larger.

In other words the metal on the passenger side has been pushed back slightly.

I took it into the local body shop and the guy tells me that I need a new hood, a new light and a new "bumper." I think the guy's full of crap but I'm no expert so I'd like some guidance on this. Since the cladding is not metal I doubt it's bent. And I suspect that what needs to be done is the fender and headlight need to be adjusted back to their original position -- if that's possible.

The insurance will pay for whatever is done so it's not a matter of cost. I just don't have much faith in their ability to actually get the parts in a reasonable period of time.

Any thoughts on this? Thanks.

PS Anyone had body work done by a shop in the Santa Monica area that you felt was done properly?

Y33TREKker
10/22/2009, 11:03 AM
Did the paint in the dent in the hood get damaged? If not, a paintless dent repair person may be able to get it back to looking close to new rather than buying an entire new hood. It may be easier to fix than other body panels repaired with the procedure too since getting interior access to the damaged area wouldn't be as difficult.