PDA

View Full Version : Unemployment

Mark B
06/21/2009, 08:09 AM
A article in the St. Petersburg Times the other day stated that unemployment in the Tampa Bay area of Floirda was at 10% and they did not expect any turn around until 2011.
I manage resorts on the beach in the Tampa Bay Area and Tourism is down for the year. We are having a good summer so far, but I am afraid that when the summer is over, my business will suffer.
My VX has been setting in the garage and I have been driving my 1999 amigo.
I might have to sell one of the vehicles. It will not be the VX.
I would like to retire someday, but at this point with the poor economy, it looks like my plans for retirememt will be postponed for a while.
Anyone else suffering from this poor economy?

Gussie2000
06/21/2009, 08:30 AM
Hi mark !

Unfortunately you aren't along on this path though.

Many VX'ers has suffer this economy slum in one way or the other.

For example i work in the private security business as a team supervisor which requires me to drive around NYC providing support to our security staff on different locations,due the bad economy the company has lost few accounts or seen reductions in the service accross the city,new jersey & connecticut.

I suffered a five hours cut from my regular 50 + weekly hours which to be honest it doesn't hurt that much because i got no kids & always manage to keep my personal expenses at low as possible,but for many members of the company that only works 40 hours a week & got all kind of responsabilities yes it must hit them very hard.

My company pays the average of $ 14,00/hour for unarmed guards,the armed goes around $ 19-25/hour & the supervisors staff which i'm part of goes $ 17/hour which is very good within this field.

Joe_Black
06/22/2009, 01:47 PM