PDA

View Full Version : 1998 Dakar Rally - Evidence

kirk hilton
03/23/2009, 03:10 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Vehicross world so forgive me if this question has already been asked/ answered. The entry in Wiki for the Vehicross suggests that the vehicross won it's category in the 1998 Dakar rally but visiting the Dakar site there is no mention of the vehicross and a general search for info of the dakar rally does not bring to light Isuzu's entry in that year. Can any of you good people confirm the case and importantly indicate a website that independently confirms the win for the vehicross. Incidentally, wiki also indicates that the vehicross won a Oz Safari Rally but I find no evidence of that either.

Gussie2000
03/23/2009, 05:12 PM
Hello kirk !

1rst to welcome you to your "new" home;Here you'll find almost any question answered.

Regarding your question about the dakar-paris rally the answer is YES.

The vehicross not only won the rally once but twice so for your satisfaction you're driving a rally champion PUV (Performance utility vehicule).

After the vehicross was put into production ISUZU wanted to prove all their off roads capabilities & technology applied on the VX to gain more "ranking" status;If i'm not mistaken the VX model assigned to acomplish the task was the ironmam edition,this doesn't mean the the IRONMAN model was better then the rest of all the VX's produced,but because ISUZU was at that time an strong sponsor of the worldwide known IRONMAN triathlon competition.

And yes the Vehicross also won the australia's safary rally.

However more fellow VX'ers would add their input to better aknowledge you all the facts surrounding this historic event.

And if you grabb a hold on my signature you can rest assured the VX did won the rally ;)

Again,welcome to the VX world,have all the fun you can possibly have because the VX is all about fun :)

kirk hilton
03/24/2009, 05:47 AM
Hi and thanks for such a full and prompt reply.