PDA

View Full Version : should I ...?

yal^
07/10/2003, 06:00 PM
There is 2001 VX Proton Yellow I fell in love with in about two seconds from getting behind the weel. Everything says NO, even my husband, but...
It has 25000 miles on and is in perfect condition. Maybe slight scratches on the back of the fender, but nothing serious. At the end they had to drive it and have fun, right? Dealer probably will ask $19 950. How much would it be worth to say?
Help, please.
yal

Joe_Black
07/10/2003, 07:29 PM
Check www.carmax.com, www.traderonline.com and ebay for a good comparison of prices. You'll find the Protons command a little higher price and when I looked last week (for a friend) there were several in the above resources. I've had some excellent experiences with the CarMax in Orlando, although I got my Dragon in your neck of the woods from M'Lady Isuzu.

It's a great vehicle and this board is a tremendous resource for any questions or issues you may have. But if it's something you truly enjoy then... GO FOR IT!

nocturnalVX
07/10/2003, 07:30 PM
Asking the members of this forum what thier VX is "worth" is likely to become a loooooooooooooooooooong thread, so here's the easiest answer. The dealer asking @ $20,000 sounds likely. So you offer $15,000... meet somewhere in between, get the coolest vehicle on the planet, and join us at Lombard's cruise night this Saturday! See you there!

Spike
07/10/2003, 07:43 PM
Don't forget to go by the dealership after hours (so you don't get harassed) and copy down the VIN # to run a CarFax report.
Then give it to your insurance agent to get an estimate.

AnalogVX
07/10/2003, 08:37 PM
That's what I paid for my '99 with 36k last September. I felt the same way, everything financially was saying no, but I had to have it. My purchase was based purely on emotion and owners' threads on vmag at the time. I haven't looked back since. Sorry if that only makes matters worse :p

It kinda sounds like you already made up your mind? ;)

Dallas4u