PDA

View Full Version : another lift question...

xman
10/11/2008, 10:29 PM
im new to the VX scene ... dont even own one yet.
ive read all the forums about lifting the vx and there seems to be a general consent that the safest maximum lift up front is 3 inches... without major modifications... looking at rocky-road.com i noticed the amigo has an ome lift torsion bar available for it... im assuming that they are just longer then stock. so my question is would it be possible to lengthen the vx torsion bars to compensate for the cv axle pressure? if so how?
just wondering beause im getting a vx in the near future and the first thing i plan to do is lift it. and it would be awesome to get 4 to 5 inches of lift instead of 3...:smilewink

thanks all,
Xman

taylorRichie
10/12/2008, 08:27 AM
Hey Man, and Welcome...

The Torsion bar upgrades are actually just stiffer. (from what I understand)

The only safe way to achieve the lift you're after is: (IMO)

2" Drop Brackets for the CV
Reindex and Major Crank of Torsion Bars
2" Coil Spacer
OME912 Springs
Shocks of your choice (probably need longer, I'm not sure if stockers can extend that far)
Longer Brake lines
And some major trimming :D

Mine is probably lifted 3.5" over stock maybe a little more including tire height.

Search for the lift wiki, it contains links to drop bracket threads, as well as alot of info on different options for lifting.

Good Luck!

xman
10/12/2008, 12:31 PM
alright will do... thanks for your help

ZEUS
10/13/2008, 06:54 AM
xman, there is a member (Nerve_Gas) here with a VX lifted something like 5" - he fit 36" tires. The tires cause problems and the excess lift causes problems. A couple of people have built a body lift for the VX with no evident problems. So I guess you could go up to 8" lift. In either case, I wouldn't recommend lifting a VX that high unless you swap in a solid front axle and can justify the mods needed to do so.

twistedsymphony
10/13/2008, 01:59 PM