PDA

View Full Version : 99 VX Supercharger wanted

jetz86
05/21/2008, 07:49 PM
Hey all VXians. I love my 99VX Auto 3.1 Ltr

I'm thinking of buying a SA Alpine Supercharger kit. I've asked about it locally (Japan) although most mechanics aren't able to help. Does anyone have one installed? Does it make a significant difference in regards to off the mark acceleration and reasonable fuel efficiancy? Is there a cheaper option(maker) with same power increase? The alpine kits retail at around $3400.

I have limited experience with car mechanics but I've read it's possible to install the supercharger at home? Is it not too difficult?

Really looking forward to more responsive power and speed.
Any advice greatfully appreciated

Thanks heaps from Jetz in Japan

Petos
05/21/2008, 08:03 PM
Hey, the superchargers are no longer in production and in big deficit.

I was lucky to get one new from one of the VX owners, but had to pay a significantly over market price.. It was shipped to Russia, where it will be replicated and several sets will be produced for sale locally..
best of luck though!

jetz86
05/21/2008, 08:38 PM
Petos - thanks for that info - it's a shame they're not producing the superchagers anymore!! Looks like I'll have to try and find another supercharger that is compatible with the VX(is that possible)? I saw your VX massive bro! Have a Vodka for me.

VehiGAZ
05/22/2008, 05:25 AM
Hey Jetz,

The S/C doesn't do much of anything for off-the-line performance - it adds power at the high end of engine speed. As for fuel consumption, our standard joke is that it gets much worse, because it's so much fun to stomp on the gas all the time! In regular driving, though, I think I lost 1-2 mpg after installing it, but I definitely let the revs run higher now.