PDA

View Full Version : Mufflers for morons

VCross007
04/23/2008, 11:51 PM
ok so as I said before, I'm new to the vx scene, as this is the last time I'll say that. I have a backround of v8's with trans ams, camaros, and vettes. Im looking to upgrade to either a flowmaster muffler, or a borla. I've always had borla and know the rasp that follows them. Since the cross is a 6er, I'm looking to put a deeper growl on it. I keep hearing about the 40 series flow, but is it the super 40 or the delta series? I'm not worried about outside / inside noise, im used to it. I want something that's gonna sound mean. Anyone with flowmaster and borla? ldub? edward? I've read enough forums but havent come to anything conclusive, so im hoping this thread will put them to the test. any sound clips would be great :_steering

Ldub
04/24/2008, 06:03 AM
I'm assuming you've seen this thread: http://www.vehicross.info/forums/showthread.php?t=11892

I like my Borla with the perforated cone in the tip...

But I also like the way other members VX's sound with flowmasters & duals...a much lower rumble than the Borla, way more agressive sounding at idle.

For side by side comparison, nothing beats a trip to Moab...:smilewink

You should be able to hear quite a variety of combinations there.:thumbup:

VehiGAZ
04/24/2008, 08:37 AM
I have a 2.5" Flowmaster Delta 50 (update - actually a Super 44). It's loud as stink at speed but sounds great at idle - a nice, throaty, snorty burble for a V6. At full throttle over 3500 rpm it's a little bit coffee-can sounding from inside, but I have no idea what it sounds like from outside.

I found that it gave a significant boost to low-rpm torque as well.

JHarris1385
04/24/2008, 09:49 AM
I thought this thread was titled Mufflers for Mormans for a brief second.

Joe Isuzu
04/24/2008, 10:38 AM