PDA

View Full Version : Headlight removal help

BlackVXer99
01/06/2008, 01:30 PM
I bought some sylvania silverstars and for the life of me i could not get my old ones removed. I moved the battery and that didnt seem to help at all, as i could NOT get the plastic piece that has the wires connected (the one that goes into the rubber piece) to come out.

Ive searched on here, and read Grants walk thru thread and many others, and spent about 2 hours fiddeling with it and could not get them loose. I gave up because i didnt want to break anything if i wasnt sure what i was doing.

So any in depth help? im sure its just something small im not doing right. Im new to the VX world, just did my first oil change last night and it went smoothly thanks to a quick search on here.

thanks in advance

DarkWing
01/06/2008, 02:01 PM
I am sure you did a search for removing headlights. Changing the lights while the assemblies are installed on the V, I don't know how you people could contort your hands to be able to do it. I was doing other work and had the front cladding off, removed the assemblies, and it was still a pain. There is a clip that holds the plastic with the wires (socket) onto the bulb base. The Base itself is held into the assembly with a wire clip that you have to depress, and move out from under the tab holding it, then it pivots back, hinged at the other end. Then the bulb and base come out of the assembly very easily. Your first time, this might actually be easier. (I was changing out all the front end bulbs, plus some other work at the same time. Yes, I think it'd be a little much to take the cladding off just to change headlights.:mad:) No one told me about the clip, either of them, so check them out. You might have to spray some cleaner back there, mine was covered in gunk. Good luck. Replacing my lights made a big differance.
D.W. Lyons
'99 Silver:bwgr:

etlsport
01/06/2008, 02:07 PM