PDA

View Full Version : Never pick up "fuzzy" ants

Chopper
12/02/2007, 06:30 AM
Our shop sits at the edge of a swamp, and various scorpions, rattle snakes, cool bugs, and other critters are always wondering in. A big rule at Flagler Collision is...Kill NOTHING!!! (this will get you fired as fast as theft) Come get me, I'll move (sometimes relocate) the guy in question. Last week, a beautiful black and red fuzzy striped large ant walked into the paint room. I let him (turns out it was a her) walk around on my hand and arm while I studied it. Never saw anything like it...it was beautiful. When one of the guys went to transfer it to his arm, he was screaming! It had stung him---powerfully---this grown man was almost in tears. At the hospital hours later(the searing pain had not lessened at all) he learned it was a Velvet Ant...known as a "Cowkiller" for its sting that is said to kill cattle. Ten days later, the site is still swollen, and flashes burning pain every so often. Doctors said effects are sometimes felt for SIX MONTHS!!! Never pick up red and black fuzzy ants! The ones with wings are males.. This has been a Public Service Announcement;)

ZEUS
12/02/2007, 08:17 AM
So is that a work comp claim?

Chopper
12/02/2007, 08:50 AM
:laughing::laughing::laughing: he hasn't missed work, and hasn't mentioned the bill

VCrossfan
12/02/2007, 09:37 AM
You gotta tell us...did the Ant get away, or is it stuffed in the showroom??

Chopper
12/02/2007, 09:54 AM
the sting worked as nature intended.....the animal escaped, and he'll never touch another:laughing::laughing:

don moore
12/02/2007, 09:57 AM
ouch
http://eny3005.ifas.ufl.edu/lab1/Hymenoptera/Mutillid_1.jpg

I would get fired if I worked there........lol:mad:

So-CalVX
12/02/2007, 02:32 PM
looks like a freaky wingless wasp!:eek: Scary! I too would be fired.

nfpgasmask
12/02/2007, 07:12 PM
Are these native to FLA or are these some sort of invasive species?

I never saw one of those when I lived down there...

Bart