PDA

View Full Version : Oil change

chucklee
06/07/2003, 10:24 PM
Hi,

just bought my vehicross and want to change the engine oil, considering this is my first time changing any engine oil, I want to make sure I know where the oil drain hole is. anyone got a picture or know where I can look.

thanks

mrtew
06/07/2003, 10:39 PM
Dude, you'd better get it done at Jiffy lube if you don't even know where the drain hole is! It's supposed to be a good idea anyway for warrantee purposes so you have a record of all the service the truck has recieved.

paultvx
06/08/2003, 12:23 AM
Warranty schmoranty. Do it yourself and document it. Why pay more than double to have the dealer do it so they can charge you for things you don't need and look for things to void your warranty with.

Craw under the truck, it's not that hard... plenty of clearance. You'll spot the drain and the filter in no time. If you can't spot them, then you shouldn't get anywhere near your VX with tools. Just kidding!

Check your owner's manual if you have one. If not, you can download the factory service manual from http://www.tonemonday.com/accessories.htm. Scroll down to the bottom of that page and you'll see the download link. Download it and start reading. Learning things on your own is x10 better than someone telling you.

SPAZZ
06/08/2003, 02:50 AM
The label says "Tokyo Radiator" on the sticker, which will throw you off. It is located, from facing the front of your V on the driver side.
It is a little difficult for me to get an exposed pic, because I have the diamond plate skid plate.

Heraclid
06/08/2003, 12:55 PM
My question is this - I'm not sure if my VX currently has synthetic in it or not. Any way to determine this? Guess I should just have it switched over to synthetic next time to play it safe, huh? Also not sure where to dispose of old oil - just take it to a Jiffy Lube or dealer and pay a disposal fee?

chucklee
06/08/2003, 01:09 PM
Thanks for your help guys, It was easier than I thought