PDA

View Full Version : Lifted?????

CrnCnn
08/19/2007, 07:25 PM
Ok if you have read my recent post on CV boots failing you may understand where this is coming from. Basically I am now contemplating lowering the sucker back down. So that’s the reason to ask the questions.

Thanks,

Clint

P.S This may help Bart in his decision too....

tomdietrying
08/19/2007, 08:06 PM
I had to replaced my driver's side boot after Moab not this year but the year before. I did a lot stuff in Moab that year (Hells Gate and Hells Revenge) just to name a couple.

I think that comes with the territory if you play in Moab you might have to replace a boot every now and then.

Peace.
Tom

Triathlete
08/19/2007, 09:50 PM
The fun factor out weighs the weekend of work changing a CV boot! I had both my outer boots tear and replaced the inner and outters while I had it torn down. Have had no problems since.

orion
08/20/2007, 04:54 PM
I'm just not a believer in this " lift tearing boots" theory. i worked as a undercar mechanic not to long ago, and I've changed a lot of boots and CV shafts. from what Ive learned is most split boots are from chemicals ( engine degreaser, carb cleaners, ect.) they get dried out and split. and there are a lot of different boot materials and each one has a weakness. CV boots are made to flex all the time, if lifting was causing failures then every time you turned a corner you would be killing your boots. I lifted mine 2.5" a few months ago, my boots were in perfect shape, I've been checking them ever month to see if they are cracking, so far no change.

Jolly Roger VX'er
08/20/2007, 05:32 PM
I'm not lifted; but, I thought I'd mention that I spray my CV boots with Silicon Spray every now and then (especially spring & fall...just after & before the harsh elements of winter!) to help keep them soft & pliable and less likely to start splitting.