PDA

View Full Version : Manual Transmission mod, ever been done???

Dino
06/03/2007, 10:27 AM
Well, after a search here and coming up with ziltch, I decided to get a little discussion goin.

Has anyone ever seen a manual trans swap in a VX?? It certainly would improve the gas mileage numbers.

I would think a manual from Trooper or a Jeep Cherokee would go in with a few mount point mods. :rolleyes: I'm a welder so that part isn't so bad. I could fabricate and weld in a mount for a clutch pedal and master cylinder.

But, the big question, what tranny would do the job?

I'll bet you Moab peeps have seen one. maybe??? :p

Tobert
06/03/2007, 10:37 AM
I thought about this when I still had a yard and garage (I'm in an apartment now). The easiest way to do it is to find a Trooper 3.5L manual and strip all of the parts for transfer. That should make it pretty easy.

I think Joeblack has done/is doing this for his rally VX.

Ldub
06/03/2007, 11:01 AM
Well, after a search here and coming up with ziltch, I decided to get a little discussion goin.

Has anyone ever seen a manual trans swap in a VX?? It certainly would improve the gas mileage numbers.

I would think a manual from Trooper or a Jeep Cherokee would go in with a few mount point mods. :rolleyes: I'm a welder so that part isn't so bad. I could fabricate and weld in a mount for a clutch pedal and master cylinder.

But, the big question, what tranny would do the job?

I'll bet you Moab peeps have seen one. maybe??? :p

Sure, It's been done...predominantly by sponsored rally teams, not mere mortals... :rolleyes: but I'm sure it's just a matter of time. :naughty:

If I'm not mistaken, there is already a plug in the firewall for the linkage.
"Paging Dr. Black"...Joe has far more experience in such matters than I...maybe he'll weigh in. ;)