PDA

View Full Version : Piaa H4

Andrey
05/09/2003, 10:57 AM
Hello,

I wanna install new H4 bulbs into headlights. Here are two options and I wanted some expert advice which one to get.

Twin Pack 15260

Bulb Type H4

Wattage 60/55w = 135/125w, 4150K

Technology Xtreme White with XTRA Technology

OR

H4 Super White Platinum #15680 by PIAA USA, #1 in automoitve lighting. These bulbs draw 80/80w and perform like 115/135w

Thanks for input

carlymac
05/09/2003, 11:20 AM
I prefer the extreme whites, the supers are a little blue-ish for my taste. Whatever you decide don't forget to change the fuses under the hood. Piaa's need a larger fuse.

Reg Hinnant
05/09/2003, 12:00 PM
Andrey, I have the PIAA 80/80s and I'm happy with them. I drive a lot at night for work and they made a big difference on the high beams. I have been running these for 2 years and have not had to add larger fuses.
I added IPF J01 lights on the brush bar and use the driving light on them to add to my high beams. (85 W)
BTW Had a rock break a lens on one of them and called the Midwestern sales manager trying to buy a lens or single lamp and was shipped a whole lamp.....at no cost! Good service, I would say!

Joe_Black
05/09/2003, 12:28 PM
I have the PIAA Super Plasma GTs and find they have a very white, low glare beam that is very close to HID. The high beams are exceptional as well.

Tone
05/09/2003, 12:48 PM
Go with a higher wattage bulb than the stock ones and you’ll be much happier - the claims of 60/55w = 135/125w is really stretching it. Be sure to increase your fuse size if you do go higher and read Grant’s How-To so you don’t break the clips that hold the bulbs in.

Zu4two
05/09/2003, 02:17 PM
I use to run the PIAA platinum super white 80/80s, but last time one of them burned out I couldn't find any replacements. I was told by several sources that the 80/80s were discontinued and PIAA was only selling 60/55W bulbs in the US. I switched to the 60/55W 4150K xtreme white bulbs (PN 15260).