PDA

View Full Version : Q's about VX model differences

tysamigo
02/11/2007, 06:37 PM
This is a great group with rapid responses, very active and I LOVE IT!!

Before I purchase my VX I had some questions I'm hoping some of you can help me with.

I basically have a choice in buying exactly what I want down to the color (proton) but I will have to pay a lot to have it shipped across country and the mileage is about 79K.

My other choice the vehicle is just a few hundred miles away and is described as great condition with an extended warranty (which I still have to verify). It is less money, closer to me but is NOT the color I want, it is black.

My questions are:

1. When the VX's were available, what "packages" or options could someone add to it from a base model?

When I look at VXs online for the most part they have the same things, but I also know that some car manf. will have a package in which better engine components are used. I'm not a mechanic so I don't know the "lingo" but for example one model is 3liter while another is 3.5. One has a special brake system while the other does not, etc.

When I shop for a VX, what should I ask the owner as far as what "package" is installed on the vehicle?

2. If I bought the vehicle that is NOT the color I want, would you recommend painting it (from my authorized Isuzu dealer)? Would it then be identical to a Proton? Or did the Proton come with special features versus other models?

Basically I want the Proton but if I can find a lower mileage VX and paint it to the Proton, would it then be identical or would there be a difference in "packages" or "features"?

Thanks so much for your help,

It means MORE than you know...

Tyler
Louisville, KY

Triathlete
02/11/2007, 06:46 PM
Differences...
99's have 16 inch wheels
00-01's have 18 inch wheels and a bit better climate control