PDA

View Full Version : Spurk Plugs

JHarris1385
12/22/2006, 11:31 AM
So my check engine light is on and has been on since early sept. Finally Pep-Boys narrowed it down to MAF sensor failure and the possible need for plugs. Well I installed the new MAF and the check engine light was off for about a half day and came back on.

For the plugs. I bought NKG iridium plugs 5456. The problem is I cant budge the pluggs out. I got one but the rest are jammed. I have a plugg wrench with a small T at the top for leverage. This is the first time I have changed my pluggs. I need some suggestions on how to get the plugs out. Is there another tool out there that is better? Oh and do I need to gap the 5456 NKG? If so I have never done that before. I have disconnected the battery to reset the cpu as well.

In conclusion I am just trying to get my engine light cleared and get the mpg I once was. RIP 18-20mpg..... Current no higher than 12-14...

Techy-D
12/22/2006, 12:31 PM
I'm new to the VX, however I've found with my other cars, that when I changed the plugs, I would do this:
1) Start when the engine is completely cold (Get all setup).
2) Run it for about 1 minute.
3) Hurry up and remove the plugs using a ratchet & plug socket (regular socket will work, but the rubber insert in a plug socket helps keep things straight so you don't break a plug).

I'm sure others will chime in if I'm out of line for the VX.

AlaskaVX
12/22/2006, 12:54 PM
I just used a ratchet and can't remember the size but a normal socket and some extensions, I remember them coming out pretty easily on mine, the only one that was a pain was the back right I believe, thats where you had to assemble the extensions within the deep hole that the spark plug is in.

psychos2
12/22/2006, 02:43 PM
Its all about leverage. You cannot get very much leverage with one of those. Try a ratchet and socket. shawn

Tobert
12/23/2006, 09:49 AM
Whatever you do, take your time and DO NOT use more leverage than a standard 3/8" ratchet.